Before Turning The Blog On Himself

Photography blogs are boring and make me want to go on a terrible spree. Welcome to the antidote.

I Love You I Hate You I Love You

 

Hello and sorry, I know it’s been a long time; after completing the last instalment of this blog, my initial plan was to start writing them fortnightly, providing you with more frequent updates. This highly improbable, stratospherically ambitious goal went almost immediately “boobs upwards” when it occurred to me that I needed a holiday; physically and creatively.

I literally, actually, with my physical, mostly human body got in a car and drove to Bournemouth to partake in a week of picking sand out of my everything, inbetween taking my daughter to look at and be traumatised by a moderate variety of land and sea-based animals. However, I was also suffering from the photographer’s equivalent of writer’s block, known in other disciplines as ‘stage fright’, ‘tennis elbow’,  ‘juggler’s blindness’, ‘paperboy’s gout’, ‘fishmonger’s Tourette’s’ and ‘architect’s verruca’. I had too many ideas and too little faith in them; I had entered a sort of weird chrysalis period, or an “all these photos are terrible” phase, to give it a less pretentious description.

Photography is deeply – almost ludicrously – important to me, so I always want to feel like I improve or learn something with every shoot. The fact of the matter is, sometimes you just don’t; you get stuck. It’s like creative quicksand: the more you struggle, the further you slip under and the hard it is to get anywhere. I realised that I should stop struggling and cut photography and anything photography-related out of my life for a week.

Did it work? Well, yes. Yes it bloody did. If you’re a massively sensitive, flowery, wet blanket artist type like me, it’s easy to become bogged down in everything and forget to just bloody well enjoy what you’re doing.  I know it can be hard when you see work you look up to and think “that is masterful, this looks like a long-haired Daschund tried to hump a Holga and accidentally took a shot that pointed vaguely in the right direction of a person” but it doesn’t matter. Try something, learn from it, move on, enjoy it. If it really is bothering you, scream into a piece of Tupperware and move on.

Since my little crisis and subsequent transition, I’ve been shooting like CRAZY. As hilarious as it would be to painstakingly introduce everything I’ve been doing, I thought I’d just wholesale hurl a selection of images at you to look at with your face area. You might like them, you might not. Either way, I’ll be happy.

Well, I’ll be more happy if you actually like them. Not that you will; all my work is mediocre. I’m a chancer, a fraud at best. It’s a wonder I’m ever commissioned by anyone. Who am I fooling OH GOD THIS IS ALL AWFUL, AWFUL STUFF WHAT A COMPLETE HACK I AM SOMEONE COME AND THROW MY EQUIPMENT DOWN A MASSIVE, POO-COVERED WELL AND THEN BURN ME AT THE STAKE.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 20, 2013 by .

Idiotic Twitter Ramblings

About this man and his words

Gareth Dutton thinks photography blogs are boring. He's trying to write one that isn't and it's going horribly. Still, it's nice to know he's alive and well and hasn't gotten himself lost in some awful place, like a terrible evil well made out of the souls of the departed or something.

If you like looking at photos, you might want to go to www.garethdutton.com

Because there are photos there. That he took. I took. It's me, writing in the third person.

Images from Flickr - The home of baseless praise

Everybody's Gone To The Rapture

Everybody's Gone To The Rapture

Everybody's Gone To The Rapture

Everybody's Gone To The Rapture

Everybody's Gone To The Rapture

More Photos
